What I am worth?

02Mar10

To start, I want you to know that I am not griping about my pay. I am where I am and I am not saying that I deserve more, but that it is interesting and I just wanted to make a point.

I am a degreed engineer and make in the area of 60k per year working for a small engineering firm in the KC area. I recently found out that a large company here in town hired a friend of mine for 75k as a manufacturing engineer. This friend has no engineering degree, and to be honest, is the last person in the world that I would label as an engineer. They are just not wired correctly for engineering. The job description that my friend is working as was “a person that roam the manufacturing line looking for problems and try to fix them.” Okay…I guess. Then to add to it, my friend said that all the people in that position are barely high school graduates.

What am I doing wrong? I have pretty bad benefits, low pay and now I know it. I am currently out there looking, but I found out that for my position I am not even on the bell curve of pay. The low end pay for my position is around 68k.

Again, I am not griping, but I need to pull my head out and get with the program or I am going to be way behind. I also would like more responsibility. I think a kid would call it a “big boy” job. 🙂

Maybe tomorrow will bring good news and I can leave my current position for something better.

ojc

No Responses Yet to “What I am worth?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

